Walking the spiral staircase again
My body moves round but my head stands still
Madly fixated on one point in the room

Around and around and around I spin
Until you fix your hands at my throat
Your elbows between my ribs
Pushing my breath away, oh

The stairs feel far away
The stairs feel far away
I can't believe how tired I am
How many stairs did I climb
Today?

My heart gives out but you beat my chest
Bruised and blue I feel the heartache slip in
I didn't miss you, did I?
The pain in my feet
And the pain in my legs
The burning in my thighs
Those stairs that I despise
They call out to me
They call out to me

If you're going to leave then leave
If you're going to leave me, make it quick
Don't stick around, oh, it makes me sick
And If you're going to stay, then stay
If you're going to stay, don't pray
For me
Please, just leave me be

Running the spiral staircase again
I lose my breath and then I lose my step
The stairs catch me, each and every limb
As I tumble down

I knew that there was a bottom when I began
But now that I'm falling,
I don't have time to fix my head
How many stairs did I climb this time?

And if I knew
If I knew the bottom were still there,
I'd fix my head again,
I'd fix my head again

I'd haunt these halls like a ghost
Leave a trail of the deepest black in the shape of my footsteps
Linoleum beneath my heels
The tread beneath my boots leads me closer, ever closer
To the point in my mind

And as I run my hand on the rail
I feel you again
With your teeth on my skull
And your arms around my neck
Keeping my head held high

My heart leaps out
My head leaps out
I leap out and I slip away
I slip away

How many stairs did I climb today? I ask as I lose my breath
I knew that I'd find,
the bottom again

If you're going to leave then leave
If you're going to leave, oh and don't make it about me
Don't make it about me
And If you're going to stay
If you're going to stay, don't pray
Oh, don't pray for me
It's not for me